.com [Home] [Bios] [Sounds]

Tracks from the self-titled album:

1 Intro
2 Reinventing the Wheel [Listen to it now with RealAudio >>]
In its title and thematic content, to understand this track is to understand this album. With its simple bassline, montage of classic lines, and emphasis on personality and flow, each mc has a platform for paying their tribute to hip hop music while establishing their uncompromised musical perspective.
3 Any Day [Listen to it now with RealAudio >>]
The album's most soulful track in its honesty and character. The reflective beat serves as a backdrop for each mc to remember and hope. It's coherency lies in it's sad and optimistic tone. Qwel's verse is written for his younger brother, Denizen explores his relationship with his parents, and Qwazaar discusses his obstacles and anxieties.
4 Qweloquiallisms
A lot of people throw the term "rhyme schemes" around. On the first of Qwel's solo songs, he displays his mastery of rhyme schemes, seamlessly stringing together a series of mind-blowing flow patterns without sacrificing imagery or content. Over a slow and melodic piano based beat, Qwel kicks one intoxicating verse that leaves the listener breathless.
5 It Won't Stop
Over the album's most rugged beat, Qwazaar gets a chance to snap on his solo song. Mic dominance, impeccable flows, and a nasty scratch chorus come together perfectly, with Qwazaar politely introducing himself to the underground hip hop scene outside of Chicago.
6 Snake Oil [Listen to it now with RealAudio >>]
Performed in the tone of a typical love poem, Denizen offers a powerful critique of the "smooth/conscious" rhetoric found in this genre. He exposes the deification of female energy as a trend that is degrading in being a one-dimensional concept that treats women as symbols, not people. (This is "the thin line between pedestal and auction block".)
7 Natural Causes
Combining the tradition of DJ songs with turntablism, DJ Natural's solo song emphasizes the musical possibilities of DJing. With cleverly selected phrases (from Diamond D to Mel Brooks) and nasty cuts, Nat produces a head bobber accessible to both hip hop heads and turntablist fans.
8 Take a Number [Listen to it now with RealAudio >>]
Another group song over a banging organ and horn based track that takes the listener back to true school fundamentals.
9 The Manhattan Project [Listen to it now with RealAudio >>]
Qwel gets an opportunity to express his love for graffiti over a Meatyogre track. Coming from a long-time writer, it is in many ways the most intense and serious graff song made to date. Once again, Nat and Dan snap on the chorus and Qwel shows that he doesn't need to sacrifice flow or rhyme schemes in the face of a subject.
10 Too Happy for Qwel
11 Live Forever
Denizen gets inside the psyche of fame, exposing it as something that tends to be a hollow status. Over a simple, yet subtle, drumless beat, Denizen becomes a reflective celebrity whose swagger and confidence cracks until he is faced with the value of his existence.
12 Cliche [Listen to it now with RealAudio >>]
Qwel offers a devastating critique of the generic punchline based braggadocios battle track by proving in the first verse how easy it is for him to master, and then tearing into the shallow format by calling for a higher standard of hip hop music in the second verse.
13 What You Thought Hops
Denizen's poem, in both its content and delivery, represents his response to the confining treatment of poetry by academics, who often have their own ideas of what poetry is and how it should be experienced.
14 Thin Red Line
The album's final song pays homage to Chicago and the Wednesday Night Rap Show on WHPK. Each mc hails from a different stop on the Red Line and takes you through their journey to Hyde Park. They eventually meet up and pass the mic around, as the album ends with an extended scratch solo.

Buy It Now! You can order the album online direct from the label, or through Amazon.com.

Contact us at info@typicalcats.com